Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Thursday, November 20, 2014
Why I chose this book:
*This was originally in the ‘meh chronicles’, but after getting a few comments on it on Goodreads, I decided to expound a bit.* I first knew Lindsay Cummings through Instagram when The Murder Complex was still a manuscript, and I was so pumped to read her book. That's why I requested the ARC. I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publish Date: June 10th, 2014
Format: eARC
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
B&N || Amazon || Indiebound

Synopsis:
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.


The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? (Goodreads)
My Bookish Mehs:
To start off, I would say that this is a decent debut novel. It was never boring, but in my opinion, it was a bit too fast paced. I rarely ever say that about books because I love fast reads, ones that keep me on the edge of my seat for the few hours it takes to finish them. But the pace was so quick that I got confused or I noticed that there wasn't enough detail to full understand what was going on. I'm all for the reader making inferences, but there was a point where I was like, "Okay, I need more description here." Again, I love fast-paced novels, but too fast-paced can completely ruin a novel for me. 

Her writing style was good for a debut author. A bit to factual in my opinion, but still decent. I really do think that she has the stuff to take her writing career far as long as she puts out intriguing novels such as this.

Final Thoughts:

Though I think this was a very interesting concept, I think Lindsay could have pulled it off better. I hope that The Death Code is better, I'm actually assuming it will be. Because this book was still pretty good despite its issues.

I gave this book 2 stars on my Goodreads

1 comment:

  1. Sounds intriguing, but I already have so many questions. What's the point of having a higher murder rate than birth rate? Is The Murder Complex comprised of environmentalists? Or do they kill for other reasons? Also, I'm guessing Zephyr is the love interest. Is his appearance in the story natural or is it contrived? Why doesn't he know he's a programmed assassin (and is it realistic that he doesn't know, or is it one of those cases that frustrates readers because it's so obvious that you wonder how the character doesn't see it)?

    I mean, yeah, I have a lot of questions... but I'm not sure if I want to read the book to have them answered. There are an awful lot of 2-star ratings on the Goodreads page; that's kind of scaring me away.

    ReplyDelete

Copyright © 2014 Of Spectacles and Books
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs