Guest Review: Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Thursday, April 16, 2015
Why I chose this book:
I've wanted to read this book for quite a while, so when Amanda offered it in exchange for a review, I had to snap it up! I LOVE this cover! I mean look at it! Doodle covers are so adorable in my opinion, and this one takes the cake. The only thing I think I found is that though the cover is cute, it fits the title, but it doesn't fit the content.


Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 3rd, 2014
Format: Hardback
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary/Realistic Fiction
B&N  ||  Amazon  ||  Book Depository

Synopsis:
John Green's The Fault in Our Stars  meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern's insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can't walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world. Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other's lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.


My Bookish Likes:
I loved that this book shows how people treat physical versus mental conditions. As Matthew observes, when people can see a change, they are more tolerant than when they can't. In the book, people say Amy is strong, brave, and an inspiration for persevering through her struggles. But Matthew is ridiculed, told to get over it, and made to try and change. This is so realistic. While it's obviously been worse in the past, there is still so much farther that society need to go before mental illness doesn't just lose the stigma attached, but is seen as a legitimate condition. I loved that this book looked at that.

My Bookish Mehs:
While I liked that this book addressed that issue, I felt it could have been pushed more. I also hated how Amy and Matthew allowed themselves to be manipulated.

Final Thoughts: 
This was a pretty good book! It went by pretty quickly, and it's definitely food for thought. I might suggest this book for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Kissing Doorknobs.

I gave this book 5 stars on my Goodreads, and there's probably an 80% chance that I will reread it.

About Reviewer:
Rachel is a lovely bookish gal who enjoys the simple things in life. When she's not busy enjoying a book, she works at a local bookstore called Dog-Eared Books and dreams of petting bunnies.
Connect with Rachel on her Blog or Twitter

4 comments:

  1. Sounds very interesting. Especially with the issue it talks about, I would read it. You're right; the cover does seem a little to whimsical for the issues it covers.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I read this a year ago I think, so I don't remember much about it but I do remember that I loved it and I think I gave it a 4.5 stars. I just like the story and the characters.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I definitely agree with this review! I liked how realistic everything seemed, but both Amy and Matthew seemed really weak to me. Matthew just let Amy step all over him, and I didn't like that at all.

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm not going to lie... I bought this book solely because of the beautiful cover. After I got it, I read the synopsis, and the book has been collecting dust since. I'm so afraid that I'm going to hate it because I was not a fan of The Fault in Our Stars... like not at all. It just makes me think that this one will be no good for me either. :(

    Erin @ The Hardcover Lover

    ReplyDelete

Copyright © 2014 Of Spectacles and Books
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs